Friday, January 1, 2010

BOOK GIVEAWAY: THE SURVIVORS CLUB- A book that may save your life, in more ways than one!


THE SURVIVORS CLUB : The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life by Ben Sherwood is a great book to have around, not only as an interesting read, but as a reference to refer to as needed. You have the opportunity to win a free copy. There are five copies available. If you'd like the chance to get one, just leave a comment saying why you're interested as well as your email address or some way to contact you. Become a follower if you're not already. Offer good until January 16, 2010. Open only to US and Canadian Residents. Thanks to Anna of the Hachette Group for the opportunity and for providing the books.












     







Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health? Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?












The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.

With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.

There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.


         

14 comments:

  1. I have read the review of this book and it is
    definitely one you could probably look in several times a week.
    I would really like to win this book.

    cenya2 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'd be interested, please enter me in. Thanks!

    stephaniet117@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Please count me in.

    simplystacieblog at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is a book I would love to have.
    Please count me in.

    cenya2 at hotmail dot com
    I follow by google reader and book blogs.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds like a really interesting book! Please enter me! I'm a new follower here!

    faithfulgirl4[at]gmail[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Have heard good reviews about this book - plus who wouldn't want to survive? Thanks for entering me!

    ReplyDelete
  7. June -

    This sounds like a very helpful book. I enjoy doing things and going places which may be hazardous - even something as simple as going to a park. You never know! Would love to have life-saving tips; thanks for sharing!

    Please note I have book giveaway on my blog - Mark Batterson's 'Primal.' The final day for comment/entry is January 4, 2010, so please don't hesitate to stop by! Here's the link:

    http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com/2009/12/primal-by-mark-batterson-book-review.html

    June - I am a new follower! And would love to review your book when it is published! : )

    Blessings & Happy Twenty Ten -

    Andrea

    andrealschultz[at]gmail[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  8. this sounds very interesting.. please count me in.

    kaylajohnson3969@sbcglobal.net

    ReplyDelete
  9. I've always wondered why some people survive and thrive in scary situations and others don't, so I would love to read this book. Thank you!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

    ReplyDelete
  10. I would love to read this. It sounds fascinating.

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. who doesn't want to know how to be safer in a world of accidents?
    copperllama at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am a follower
    copperllama at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  13. I think this book sounds really interesting and I would love to read it! I'm a follower! :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. This sounds like it would be a helpful book and very interesting. Thanks for the chance!

    ReplyDelete

I enjoy reading what you have to say. Seriously!